Phone: 065 6820143       Email:


 Toonagh, Fountain, Ennis, Co. Clare
Uimhir Rolla: 03898u

Home News Contact Us


Board of Management

The Board of Management of Toonagh National School manages the school on behalf of our patron, the Bishop of Killaloe. The Board meets regularly and consists of eight members. A new board is elected every four years and the current term of office runs from December 2019 to November 2023. The current members of the Board of Management are as follows:

• Marie Slattery - Chairperson
• Gearóid Roughan - Principal
• Seán Eustace - Teacher Nominee
• Laura Cahir – Patron’s Nominee & Treasurer
• Mairéad Culliney – Parents’ Nominee
• Brian O'Loughlin - Parents’ Nominee
• Denise Whelan - Community Nominee
• Seán Ryan - Community Nominee

The B.O.M. has responsibility for the overall management of the school and the appropriate accommodation of pupils. It has a crucial role to play in the collaborative process of ensuring that the educational needs of all its pupils are identified and catered for. It has a responsibility in supporting and facilitating the planning and implementation of the curriculum in the school and in formally approving the school plan. The Board provides a valuable forum for the expression of the views and concerns of school and in ensuring effective communication between the different interests involved. The Board also has a responsibility for supporting and monitoring the characteristic spirit of the school. The running of our school is truly enriched by the volunteerism and commitment of the members of our school community. It is encouraging to see such a high level of interest in our school.